Literary Achiever Award

Literary Achiever Champions are individuals who enhance the impact of literacy through their body of work comprised of any writing genre:  poetry, fiction, non-fiction, journalism, scriptwriting, screenwriting, and songwriting.  They have gone beyond their craft and attained notable success in promoting and nurturing literacy.

2009 – Phil Levine, Poet

2010-  Ray Bradbury

2011 – Daisaku Ikeda, Buddhist educator, philosopher, poet

2012 – E. L. Doctorow

2013 – Anne Frank

2014-2015 – Nelson DeMille


Individual Leader Award


Individual Leader Champions have achieved leadership roles in enhancing the positive image of reading for education, information, and enjoyment.  Through notable efforts in organization, fundraising, enhancing public awareness, and advocacy of literacy issues, they have had extraordinary positive impact.

2009 Angela Anton, Publisher, Anton Community Newspapers

2010 – Tracey Edwards, VP Verizon Long Island

2011 – Frank Petrone, Huntington Town Supervisor

2012 – none

2013 – John Barr


Enterprise Award

Enterprise Champions are CEOs of businesses or organizations that have demonstrated outstanding success in publicly promoting literacy.  They need to have notably and heavily contributed to maintaining and promoting a place for the written and spoken word in literature.

2009 – Jeff Bezos &

2010 – none

2011 – Tom Schneider, Executive VP Simon Properties (Walt Whitman Mall)

2012 – none

2013 – Deborah Weber


Education & Cultural Arts Advocate – special category 2010

Education & Cultural Arts Advocates are Champions who have demonstrated outstanding support for literary, cultural and historic organizations.  They have notably and extensively contributed to maintaining a place for the written work through their efforts in sustaining and preserving institutions whose mission is to promote the cultural arts.

2010 – Assemblyman Steven Englebright

Copyright ©2018 Walt Whitman Birthplace Association. All Rights Reserved.