Deprecated: Redux::setHelpSidebar is deprecated since version Redux 4.3! Use Redux::set_help_sidebar( $opt_name, $content ) instead. in /var/www/ on line 4861
2013 Poet in Residence Naomi Shihab Nye

Walt Whitman Birthplace Association 2013 Poet in Residence

Naomi Shihab Nye

Naomi Shihab Nye, describes herself as a “wandering poet.” Nye was born to a Palestinian father and grew up in St. Louis, Jerusalem, and San Antonio. Drawing on her Palestinian-­‐American heritage, the cultural diversities of her varied homes, and her travels around the globe, Nye confirms the collective nature of the human condition in her writing.

Naomi Shihab Nye is the author and editor of more than 30 volumes. Her books of poetry include 19 Varieties of Gazelle: Poems of the Middle East, A Maze Me: Poems for Girls, Fuel, and her best-­‐ selling poetry book You & Yours.

Naomi Shihab Nye’s other works include eight prize-­‐winning poetry anthologies for young adults. Her collection of poems Honeybee: Poems and Short Prose won the 2008 Arab American Book Award for Children/Young Adult Books.

In the fall of 2011, Ms. Nye published two new books, There Is No Long Distance, a collection of very short stories, and Transfer, a book of poems.

WWBA's Past Poets-in-Residence

The annual Poet In Residence is proudly sponsored by WWBA. Each year the program features revered and distinguished contemporary poets who continue to embody Walt Whitman’s spirit of democracy, diversity and creativity.

William Heyen: 1981;   Allan Planz: 1982;   Louis Simpson: 1983;   John Ciardi-1984;   W.D.Snodgrass: 1985;   Galway Kinnell: 1986;   David Ignatow: 1987;   June Jordan: 1988;   Stanley Kunitz: 1989;   William Stafford: 1990;   Allen Ginsberg: 1991;   Sharon Olds: 1992;   Adrienne Rich: 1993;   Robert Bly: 1994;   Joseph Bruchac: 1995;   Diane Wakoski: 1996;   Galway Kinnell: 1997;   Mark Rudman: 1998;   Yevgeny Yevtushenko: 1999;   Marge Piercy: 2000;   Billy Collins: 2001;   Gary Soto: 2002;   Samuel Menashe: 2003;   Marvin Bell: 2004;   Nikki Giovanni: 2005;   Molly Peacock: 2006;   David Wagoner: 2007;   Alicia Ostriker: 2008;   X. J. Kennedy: 2009;   Mark Doty: 2010;   C.K. Williams: 2011;   Martín Espada: 2012

Copyright ©2018 Walt Whitman Birthplace Association. All Rights Reserved.