May 15, 2022
12:00 PM EST
2:00 PM EST

Event Description:

Walt Whitman Birthplace Association is delighted to announce our 36th annual Student Poetry Contest. 2022 Poet-In-Residence Natasha Trethewey will officiate the afternoon.


Category Name Poem School
Category A Riya Golia “The Joy Flower” The Laurel Hill School
Category B Alicia DiGiambattista “Realization & Renewal” Great Hollow Middle School
Category C Charlotte Huang “Amongst the Fire” W.T. Clarke Middle School
Category D Chloe Lin “Lessons in Farming” Herricks High School
Category E Thisbe Wu “Shrooms” Saint Anne’s School
Category F Ruby Standfast “A New Leaf” Dogwood Elementary School
Category G Mrs. Miolan “A New Chapter” Centre Avenue Elementary School
Category H Mrs. C. Loiacono “New Season, New Beginnings, New Hope” HB Mattlin Middle School
Category I Mrs. Prymaczek “Poems of Renewal” Hillside Grade School
Category J Mrs. Wallace “A Time for Renewal Vol. 3 gr 8 pd 6” Mt. Sinai Middle School
Category K Mr. Graham Otton “Once Again” New Hyde Park High School
Category L Dr. Deirdre Faughey “Wonder Once Hiding Within” Oyster Bay High School
Category M Violet LeClaire, Emily Gorecki, Jordan Logue “Phoenix” Walt Whitman High School